top of page

The Game Typology


In 2003, XEODesign surveyed players and non players, observed them, recorded them and interviewed them to assess the emotions that they felt during play.

Pulled from the facial expression of hundreds of players, this trend-setting research has laid the foundation for gamification. Motivations of play are defined facets, which may be mapped to various Personality types. It is important to understand the basic motivations when designing games in order to cover as many personality types and to determine which game mechanics best fit.

Inspired by XEODesign researches, I have produced my own model. In my next post, I will add my complementary models: Player Psychology, Game Typology, Gamification Items...


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page